+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Backyard Bridge

Hybrid View

Default Backyard Bridge

Hi:

new poster and member - I would like to make a simple wooden bridge to span a creek behind my house. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where I can find plans and specs? I have limited experience, but I am willing to give it a shot?

thanks
    stuckinnj

Default Re: Backyard Bridge

I hate to take the wind out of your sails, but this "simple" bridge may be more complex than you think.

Finding plans and actually building the bridge shouldn't be hard, but the Government can make these kinds of projects administratively prohibitive.

Consider that in many areas of the country, structures such as this require a building permit. In order to receive a building permit, you may be required to submit engineered plans.

Since you are spanning a creek, there may be environmental regulations applied. You might have to get a permit to work in a "riparian habitat" or whatever they call it.

I'm all for just going ahead and doing it and not telling anybody -- I think government is far too overbearing on private property rights and doesn't consider things in practical terms -- but I just wanted warn you of the possible things you can run into. The cost of complying with red tape and paperwork can far exceed the construction cost of the project.
    The "Senior Member" designation under my name doesn't mean I know a lot, it just means I talk a lot.I've been a DIYer since I was 12 (thanks, Dad!). I have read several books on various home improvement topics. I do not have any current code books I can refer to. I was an apprentice plumber for two years.

How wide is the creek?
    Is the bridge utilitarian or both useful and decorative?
    What kind of traffic (foot, bike, atv, animal, vehicle ... ) ?
    Are you in a rural or urban setting?
    Is the creek completely on your property or will the bridge be accessing other property?