+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    I'm putting a new 20 amp circuit in as part of a basement refinish project. I bought roles of 12 gauge black and 12 gauge white wire that looked identical on the shelf. As I started running it through the new conduit I'm putting in, I realized that the white was a lot more flexible. Come to find out, it is stranded while the black is solid.

    Does this matter? They are both rated at 600 V - same manufacturer, etc. But the black says "ft-1 approved" and the white (stranded) says "vw-1 approved". I have never heard of these terms.

    Since I've already cut into the rolls and probably can't return them I'd like to drive on. They both should carry current fine, and this will not be a heavily loaded circuit. But I just wanted to verify before I get much further on the job. I've been told never to mix gauges within a circuit...would using these together have the same effect?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    There is no problem as long as they are the same gauge.
    "Lead by Example"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,969

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    The stranded wire is normally used for commercial work, where the wires are run through conduit.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    Stranded wire usally cost a few bucks more. Its darn sure much easier to pull especially if you working alone. Thats really the only differences between the 2 types.
    Gizmo

    Cut it 3 times & it's still to short.
    Inventor of the Miter Master Plus.

    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Pacific Northwet
    Posts
    1,660

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    About the only thing you can't use stranded wire for is the "backstab" connections on outlets and switches -- the kind of connection where you just jab it in and you're done.

    You CAN use the backwire connections IF it is the kind with an internal clamp that tightens with a screw.
    The "Senior Member" designation under my name doesn't mean I know a lot, it just means I talk a lot.I've been a DIYer since I was 12 (thanks, Dad!). I have read several books on various home improvement topics. I do not have any current code books I can refer to. I was an apprentice plumber for two years.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,969

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    In my fair city using the 'backstab' feature on outlets and switches isn't to code.

    Just sayin...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Can strand mix with solid of same gage in circuit?

    Thanks guys! Appreciate the responses.

    Unfortunately, everything here has to be conduit - residential too. I'm getting used to it, but it sure adds time and planning to the job for a non-professional.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •