+ Reply to Thread

Default electrical to plumbing ground

What is the best way to tie in a ground from electrical to copper plumbing? nearest pipe to service panel is 30 ft. Also what size wire should I use or is it alright to use grounds at outlets to add a wire to plumbing?

Default Re: electrical to plumbing ground

i'm not an electrician but your service is already grounded or you wouldn't have any service at all. bt to answer your question and i think i'm correct, you have to run an 8 guage wire from the panel the 30' to where your water meter is and attach it to both sides of the water meter.

House svc is grounded thru rod if contractor didn't cut it off short, but getting bimetal corrosion on ice maker and hot water heater.

the metal water piping systems installed in or attached to a building or structure shall be bonded to the service equipment enclosure, the grounded conductor at the service, the grounding electrode conductor where of sufficient size, or to the one or more grounding electrodes used. <- 250.104(a)(1) basically you want to bond your water pipes at the closest point to one of these, your panel or your ground rod. to get a good ground if there is any fittings you should use a bonding jumper around fittings on the water pipe as far as size you are not required to use a 6AWG copper wire. and for a little trick if you are going to get this inspected. use a little sand paper to get the pipe shiny where you bond your wire to. inspectors usually like this. good luck buddy and be safe

i used 4 awg to my COLD water line by my water meter.

I believe if you use a 4 awg bare, you do not have to protect the wire (i dont have my code book at home to verify its 4 nota 6) by not protecting it you can simply staple it up or run it though holes, no conduit needed. You will want to run the wire close to the entrance of the water line, and then jumper the meter to bond both sides.