+ Reply to Thread

Default Painting oak grained cabinets

Hello there , this is my first time here. I am planning on painting my kitchen cabinets. I have done this before but the thing is they were smooth surfaced. Now I'm dealing with a surface that has the grain .I'm afraid that, well it's actually the wife, who's concerned that the texture of the wood grain is going to be visible. So I'm thinking that I just need to find a good thick paint and that should do the job. So can anybody give me any advice on this. I'd really appreciate any advice whatsoever, I do not want to be listening to you know who for the next few years or forever . Thanks alot , John

Default Re: Painting oak grained cabinets

odonovj,

I'm afraid you will never be able to cover up that deep oak graining. You can lessen it some by building up a couple coats of oil enamel undercoating with a thorough sanding between coats. I like the oil undercoater in this situation because it is heavy build and easily sandable.

Of course, the undercoating should be preceded by a good cleaning and scuff sanding to help assure good adhesion of the primer to the varnished surface. Liquid deglossers are also good. However, be advised that the adhesion to a varnished surface is never the same as adhesion to virgin wood. Be sure to save a small jar of touch-up paint.

If you have spray equipment, use it. A brush job will never achieve the quality finish that spray equipment will give, especially if you use an acrylic paint for the finish coat. I personally like oil finishes, but their one downside is that they yellow with age. If you are using a pure white color, acrylic will definitely holds that white color longer.