+ Reply to Thread

Default How to expose an interior brick chimney

I live in a 1911 house in Seattle and we have a chimney that vents our gas furnace. It runs up through our kitchen and we'd like to get rid of the plaster that's on it and just expose and clean up the brick. Just looking for any tips on how to do this since I've never done it before! Thanks.

Default Re: How to expose an interior brick chimney

I have done something similar with a wall. Old plaster and lathe. I just started tearing the plaster down. It mostly came off in sheets but very very dusty. I then removed the lathe and cleaned up the brick. There always the possibility of "opening a can of worms" with old homes but I like the brick so I took the chance. I had to trim out the gap left after taking down the finish part of the wall.
    Randy Tibbetts
    Hidden Content

Lola:

The project you mention is a very common one, and as Andover states, it is very dusty & the broken, removed plaster can damage your lungs as well as the floor if precautions are not taken.

Therefore, wear goggles, a respirator or a dust mask to cover your nose & mouth that is designed to protect your lungs from paint, dust & fumes; Home Depot/Lowe's carries a 3M model (designed for paint jobs) for approx $5---also use a large window fan on full blast in a nearby window to exhaust the dust.

Put down heavy sheet plastic tarp on the floors to catch the broken plaster; use a small sledge hammer or crow bar to break the plaster, & the crow bar to pry it loose---important: buy a large SQUARE trash barrel (HD/Lowe's) & line it with heavy duty construction plastic bags (3 mil thickness)----prop the trash barrel against the wall as you rip out the plaster/sheet rock so that the pieces fall directly into the trash barrel.