+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Wiring

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Wiring

    How do I Split a 220 circuit into 2 - 110's ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,358

    Default Re: Wiring

    Actually it is already. We get 220v by adding two 110v lines together (of different phases)

    What are you trying to accomplish?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: Wiring

    It would depend on whether or not the line you are talking about includes a neutral.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRemodeler View Post
    Actually it is already. We get 220v by adding two 110v lines together (of different phases)

    What are you trying to accomplish?
    Actually --- like Jack said --- depends if there is a *neutral* included.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,358

    Default Re: Wiring

    to futher your point(s) - if there are 2 neutrals included...


    Still need to know where he is headed with this one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: Wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRemodeler View Post
    to futher your point(s) - if there are 2 neutrals included...


    Still need to know where he is headed with this one.
    Only one neutral would be required to make a MWBC.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRemodeler View Post
    to futher your point(s) - if there are 2 neutrals included...


    Still need to know where he is headed with this one.
    2 neutrals ???
    Why would there be 2 neutrals for a 220/240 volt circuit?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,358

    Default Re: Wiring

    2 neutrals if you wanted to make two 110 circuits

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brown county, Ohio
    Posts
    52

    Default Re: Wiring

    Houston i dont understand the two neutrals, one would make 2 circuits. its 240 so it is seperate phases, it is just like a 12/3, two hots and one neutral?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Wiring

    Providing there is one neutral and 2 hot legs --- there will be 1-220/240 volt circuit and/or 2- 110/120 volt circuits.

    Two neutrals are not required.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •