+ Reply to Thread

Default Refinish, Replace or Deal with it?

We own a 1910 craftsman. The floors are original in all but 3 rooms and the hall. There are big gaps between some of the boards, some of them are lifting up, there are huge gashes in some areas, as well as some black spots where I *think* water damaged between the boards. But I am not a flooring expert so I honestly have no idea what I am talking about here Also, in our bedroom ,there is almost an entire corner where it was filled with a yellow wood filler.

I do know that underneath the floor is just the wood boards and then the crawl space. No insulation, no sub floor, nothing. We can sometimes feel a draft coming between the boards.

So I am wondering, as far as resale eventually-would it be better to replace the floors, or refinish the original floors? I honestly dont know how much it would take to repair all that appears to be wrong with the floors but there are some major issues

Default Re: Refinish, Replace or Deal with it?

for a house thats 100 yrs old thats pretty common, over the years the wood has gone through so many warm and cold seasons that it will move eventually opening up as you describe.

if its really bad simply sanding the floors wont do anything other than give remove years of wear on the face of the wood, then the other thing would be to fill all the cracks with filler but that doesnt always give a perfect color match to the species. all you can really do is deal with it or replace the floor.

as for the draft the big thing there is to get insulation in between the joists to stop heat loss and air movement
    fire up the saw and make some dust