+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    11

    Cool Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    Quote Originally Posted by ed21 View Post
    For signals from a town 45 minutes away, an outdoor antenna would probably work best. Get a rotator with it too, You may be surprised at all the stations you may get. You might get stations from York or Harrisburg too.
    True. For homes located far away from the signal, homeowners should invest in an outdoor antenna for clearer TV viewing.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    212

    Smile Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    Best route for DTV is to use an outside antenna. Lots of information at the antennasdirect website.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    128

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    Don't get suckered by the "digital" splashed on ads or cartons, the old style antenna works just fine with digital TVs. The antenna only captures the signal and doesn't care if it is analog, ham, or digital, it is the receiver's job to take what it needs.

    I am approx. 45 miles from station towers to the east and west, an old style antenna in the attic works just fine with a signal splitter to various rooms. That said, the signal is line-of-sight so what you do will depend on your location. Your antenna needs to be high enough to receive over the nearby hills and neighboring buildings.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    I don't think so. They work well even without any antenna.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    You will need antenna to catch digital signals. other wise you will not able to get good picture quality.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    No, to go digital we don't require any antenna's. because sun might be setting on analoigue broadcasting.
    Thanks

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,776

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    I realize this is an old thread and the most recent reply comes form Australia, but you do need an antenna to receive the over the air TV signal, you just don't need to buy a new antenna, your old one will work just fine.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, formerly of Chicago
    Posts
    1,808

    Default Re: Does a digital TV set need an antenna?

    I just bought a new Vizeo ultra high definition TV. The initial scan for over the air digital signals found about 30 stations, even without any antenna at all! I live about 15 miles from the transmitters west of downtown Portland, Oregon and I can actually see them from my house. Even channel two, which usually has the most trouble with weak signals, is coming in 5X! The picture is a good as that from my satelite connection. Cable and satelite companies often compress a digital signal in able to send more data over their limited bandwidth. Over the air stations do not have to compress their signals.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •