+ Reply to Thread

Default Electric wiring basement

Hi

Can anyone tell me what/if the code requirement is for running electrical wiring in a basement perpendicular to the floor joists.

Can the wire be stapled to the bottom of the floor joist OR do you have to drill through each joist to run the wire ?
    1) If floor joists are exposed
    2) If there is a suspended ceiling

Thank you in advance
    albanello

Default Re: Electric wiring basement

If you don't run it through the joists, you'll make it extremely difficult if you ever want to install sheetrock.
    The "Senior Member" designation under my name doesn't mean I know a lot, it just means I talk a lot.I've been a DIYer since I was 12 (thanks, Dad!). I have read several books on various home improvement topics. I do not have any current code books I can refer to. I was an apprentice plumber for two years.

In an unfinished basement:

When running NM at an angle to the joists, you must drill holes or use a running board. NEC 334.15(C) If you drill holes the bottom edge of the hole must be >1.25" from the bottom of the joist, or you must use nailing plates. NEC 300.4
    http://www.selfhelpforums.com/showthread.php?t=18175

Above drop-in ceilings:

When it comes to drop in ceilings, it is only legal to use NM in dwelling units. NEC 334.12 (A) (2) By code, drop in ceiling tiles are considered "exposed work" as they are easily removed. NEC 100 Def. of Accessible.

Depending on your inspector, he may allow staples, require holes, or if following the code to the letter, may require it in a conduit raceway. NEC 334.15 (B)

I always drill holes because they are faster than staples, especially if there is more than one cable, and they are less likely to get flagged. And what Fencepost said.
    Last edited by ZZZ; 01-26-2011 at 06:03 PM.
    "Lead by Example"

Thank You for your responses

Fencepost: