+ Reply to Thread

Default Electrical Wiring 1972 Mobile Home

This is my first time here so please don't throw me out the door to quickly. I am trying to replace outdoor porch light. The wiring is so short that there is not much to work with to wire the new motion light. Also, the junction is not watertight causing shorting out in laundry room and old porch light. I think I need to run new longer wire from the switch location straight up the wall to the porch light location.The problem is I have no idea what type of wiring is in this place. It is a 1972 Noble Mobile Home that I've been in for 24 years. I've accomplished many home improvement projects but electrical still eludes me at times. If I put new wiring in, do I attach it to the old with electrical tape and simply pull it through? Also, the siding on the mobile is the old corregated metal, so nothing sits flush. I will get the watertight junction and will probably need some type of molding to go over the wire that is exposed on the outside unless of course I can figure out how to run it ALL up through the wall. That would be nice!~ The light used to sit right next to the door but would burn your face everytime you walked in or out the door. So....a neighbor moved it up higher which has been fine for a few years until now when I need to replace the light. If anyone knows about these old mobiles and the wire type, I would appreciate any advise.

Default Re: Electrical Wiring 1972 Mobile Home

Quote Originally Posted by ClassicD57 View Post