+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    17

    Question Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Hi,

    As our power bill skyrocketed this winter we purchased the new Honeywell Aube 7-Day Programmable Baseboard Thermostats (TH115-A-240D)...seven of them...
    The problem is that after I shut the power off and removed the first old Honeywell manual thermostat off the wall: all 4 wires were black (not as I expected 2 red ones and 2 black ones).

    Now I am not sure how to wire the replacement...any advice?

    Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC06630.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	9.0 KB 
ID:	2161  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    First question:
    Are there markings for "line" and "load" on the back of the existing stat?

    Second question:
    Do you have any tools to test for continuity. Either a VOM or test light and a general understanding of how to use it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Hi NEC,
    Actually there are markings for Line (L1 & L2) and load (T1 & T2)...I realized it after I posted...so maybe it won't be so bad... I will mark the wires before I disconnect them.
    I do not have any meters to test for continuity... I can borrow one before I turn the breakers back on. Do you think I should do it, what is the risk of not testing (blown heater/thermostat?).
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Naw, if there is a dead short the breaker should trip. Doubt if things will be desroyed should you hook them up wrong. Just turn the power off when you hook it up. And turn your head when you fire it all back up............. If you missed?....... Post back and relax my friend........ We will figure it out together.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Thanks, NEC!
    I marked the wires and connected the new thermostat. Turned the power on and voila - all works. I hear the baseboard going on and off based on the temp on the thermostat.

    YEAH! - One down, six more to go...hope my electrical bill goes down.

    Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Happy to help, that is all. Happy it worked out...........

    David

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    34

    Smile Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    NEC love your comments "Turn your head..." A real down to earth guy, try it and see what happens.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Replacing the high voltage baseboard thermostat

    Quote Originally Posted by jboller56 View Post
    NEC love your comments "Turn your head..." A real down to earth guy, try it and see what happens.

    Glad you enjoy! Thanks! Most of this stuff is pretty simple and it is fun to help.

    David

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •