+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: slow drain

Default slow drain

MY tub drains slowly, how to fix this without tearing up the bathroom?

Default Re: slow drain

Howdy, likely a hair/ soap clog. Hhve you tried plunging, toilet plunger, the drain? Or consider having the tubs drain snaked to open it up.

It depends on the age of your house. If it is an old house with a cast iron or galvanized steel P trap it may be impossible to get a snake - even a snake with the tip cut off of it which is my emergency last ditch snake - through it. The P trap may be too severe or the metal has hard deposits on it from decades of use and no snake will get through it. Some poster may not like my solution but I have lots of experience having torn out 12 bathroom ceilings(in a five story apt building that is 98 years old to replace cast iron and steel bathtub drains). A typical bathroom drain cleaner carefully used several times and thoroughly flushed will work. You will have to do this every six months or so to keep the drain working.

I'd try the drain cleaner first. It doesn't always work but it may this time.
    We had a plug in our tub pipe as well that caused a slow draining of the water. I used drain cleaner on it and it wouldn't budge. A snake wouldn't take it out either. Luckily for us I was able to go through a section of the exterior plywood (the siding was getting replaced)to get to the drain, remove the trap, clean it all out thoroughly and remove the "Drain Wookiee" which was now sporting a cool electric blue dye-job from the drain cleaner.

Oh, and spend about $3 and get yourself a "hair snare" or other hair catching device to put over the drain, it's worth it and will definitely cut down on the amount of hair buildup in the drain and having to buy a lot of chemicals to pour down the drain just for hair clogs.