+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Moving breaker box

    I would like to move my breaker box to finish my basement, is this hard and how would i learn the best way to do this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,622

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    You will probably have to , but you should anyway, hire an electrician. This would require pulling the meter form a sealed box which requires an electrician in most jurisdictions, may require replacing the drop from the meter to the panel if a longer run is needed, not to mention making the required adjustments to the existing wiring as required.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    Just like J L said hire a license electrican to do this job its a pretty big job. Also remember to that if your panel is going to be more than six feet away from your meter base according to the nec code you must install a disconnect. Hopes this helps and good luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    Just like the guys said, get an electrician. A mistake on your plumbing and you have water in your basement, a mistake on your electrical and you burn your house down. Know your limitations.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The deep South
    Posts
    459

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    Quote Originally Posted by dc16 View Post
    Just like J L said hire a license electrican to do this job its a pretty big job. Also remember to that if your panel is going to be more than six feet away from your meter base according to the nec code you must install a disconnect. Hopes this helps and good luck.
    Can you cite a code reference for the disconnect requirement ?
    I REALLY need that info . Thanks .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lakeland ,MN
    Posts
    356

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    Quote Originally Posted by djohns View Post
    Can you cite a code reference for the disconnect requirement ?
    I REALLY need that info . Thanks .
    John, I think he means the wire coming out of the meter can. It is considered unfused wire. So it needs to be short as possible to reach the main service panel.
    Harry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    Quote Originally Posted by djohns View Post
    Can you cite a code reference for the disconnect requirement ?
    I REALLY need that info . Thanks .
    I was wondering about that myself. Not that I question that distance, but I have in the past two years ran SE cable a greater distance without a disconnect, without a problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    My bad I reckon I got some local codes mixed in with the nec codes. Sorry about all of the mix up. The nec states it must be readly accessable and nearest to the point as Marcus said. The person who is asking this question needs to check with there local electrical inspector and see what all they require about moving a panel.I have worked in different areas and it always comes back to the authority having juserdication that makes calls like that. That goes back to your local power company or the electrical inspector that takes care of the area in which you are working or live in. So sorry for the mix up.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Truckee, Calif.
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: Moving breaker box

    By breaker box, if you mean a sub-panel, you are talking about a lot of wiring changes but you can just turn off the breaker to the panel and need not involve the power company. If you mean the service panel where the meter is, then you'll need an electrical inspection from both the utility and the AHJ. I'm an electrician with the local power company, and I'd be hesitant to do it myself because of all the work involved and the potential for problems with your homeowner's insurance if you did something wrong and had a fire.
    Just because you can, it doesn't mean you should!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •