+ Reply to Thread

Default sheetrock nail pops

i have sheetrock that was installed 40 years ago. the problem i have is two-fold: one ,the nails(not screws) are popping out and two, and most importantly , the sheetrock was installed horizontly and has bulged causing the seam to show. without replacing the wallboard how can this be fixed?

Default Re: sheetrock nail pops

Sheet rock is normally installed horizontally. It is easier to mud a horizontal joint at waist level rather than a vertical top to bottom.

If the joint is bulged water might be present, or was present in the past.

I'm no expert mind you...

with sheetrock this old the nail pops could be caused by several different factors. Nails that missed the stud are the most common of pops. what happens is that every time there is a vibration in the wall from a door slamming or any other cause the nail vibrates different from the sheet rock causing the mud to bust loose from the mud around it. of course being 40 years old you would probally have seen these a long time ago. as you know most nail have a smooth head so over time the mud may come loose for the simple fact of that it might never have bonded real well to the nail in the first place.
    but the most likely would be that the temp and humidity has not been held at a fairly constant over the years and the house may have set vacent for a period of time which will also let the humidity go up and down. and this could be the cause of both problems. I know this doesn't give you a solution but it may address the cause. and other then as you say removal the only other solution that I can see would be hanging a layer over the existing

Nail pops can be cured with a light tap with a hammer to reset the nail, then install a screw along side the nail so that it binds and captures the nail. The two big reasons for pops is expansion and contraction of the materials or jarring vibration such as a slamming door.