+ Reply to Thread

Unhappy oil furnace smell...YUK!!

Hello, I am new to this so forgive me if I'm not doing something right. I asked this question on the ask TOH section already but it may not get addressed there so I am asking through this section. I was wondering if anyone has any idea why my house reeks of kerosene from my oil furnace. I hate it!!! I notice it mostly when the wind is blowing. My husband called the furnace guy at my request and he came over yesterday and cleaned this and that on the furnace, and today, the furnace is blowing stinking kerosene odor still. My husband thinks I'm a bit crazy, but I am serious when I say that this smell occurs when the wind is blowing. I can be in the house and smell the smell and say...gee the wind is blowing....and I am right. So let me know what you think.
    Thanks so much
    Last edited by nancymunroe; 01-11-2009 at 12:16 AM. Reason: spelling

Default Re: oil furnace smell...YUK!!

Nancy,

First and foremost.....do you have a quality digital read-out carbon monoxide detector in the house? If not......get one immediately...is my advice. (Plug-in Nighthawk model (or better) and not a cheapie model that only tells you when CO concentrations in the air have reached a critical state as regards your health.) The reason for this advice will beome clear as we delve into the various reason(s) that can cause what you describe.

You don't state that there are any "booms" when the furnace/boiler starts or not. Frequently there are when oil-fired furnaces or boilers are malfunctioning, but not always.

You also haven't said whether or not you see evidence of soot near the heat registers or similar. This can be very helpful in diagnosing a problem and/or alerting a homeowner that something is amiss.