+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    I am going to install a Broan Recess Lght/Vent Fan over our Bath Tub. What is the easiest way to make the exsisting wiring in the cieling into a GFCI???.....can I go in the Attic (over the Tub), wire the exsisting wiring into a GFCI outlet, secure that to a post, the wire from that outlet to the Light/Fan...will that make it a GFCI Cicuit to the Light/Vent Fan???. I was thinking of a GFCI Breaker, but I don't mess with the panel, would have to hire an electrician....the Wife doesn't want to spend a penny extra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,792

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Yes, you can wire the light/fan off the load side of a GFCI outlet.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Sounds like the OP wants to put a GFCI receptacle up in the attic to feed the fan/light?

    If this was the case and it had tripped you have to go up into the attic each time to reset the GFCI.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,792

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    Sounds like the OP wants to put a GFCI receptacle up in the attic to feed the fan/light?

    If this was the case and it had tripped you have to go up into the attic each time to reset the GFCI.
    Sorry, I think you are right.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Yup, that's what I'd have to do. I figure it wouldn't trip unless the shock protection is needed....hopefully it'll never happen.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,792

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    I should warn you Beer Belly, it's common for motors to cause false trips of GFCIs.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Thanks for the warning, I'm gonna go ahead a give it a shot and see what happens....it'll be easy enough to just remove the outlet and use the box as a junction, then go the Breaker route if needed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Just to let you know .... I have a bath fan running off a GFCI and it does trip from time to time .
    It's called nuisance tripping for a reason ..... it would be a nuisance if I had to get into the attic to reset it each time.

    The other thing to consider .... is the existing wiring part of a shared neutral circuit?
    If so .... GFCI's don't work well on this type of wiring configuration and would likely trip often.


    Just a thought.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    731

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    You could get a combo GFCI device to put in the wall in the bathroom, bring the power circuit to there first from the attic and fish down, then to the exaust fan/light. This way you can control it (on/off) safely from beyond the bath/shower zone and reset it should it trip.

    They make devices with switches, receptacles, and blank front GFCIs.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: From Standard to GFCI Circuit

    Are you saying they make GFCI Wall Switches??. I do have a GFCI near the sink...maybe pick up power from there, run it to the Wall switch, then to the Vent Fan/Light

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •