+ Reply to Thread

Default landscape ideas?

I am a landscape novice and need some ideas about what to do with our yard. the side yard (where the ac unit is in the picture) is about 30 feet wide and about 100 feet deep. we have considered putting a playset over there with either pea gravel or some other similar material. not sure what to do with the rest.

thanks.

Default Re: landscape ideas?

The first thing I'd want to do is fence and secure that area.

That is a good sized area and I would landscape it to be suitable for the type of use that suits you. If it's a "kids only" area, then look into jungle gym structure, sand pits, and other safe play areas. If this is more of an adults area with kid friendly things, then I'd do a nice patio or deck with a shade/roof structure for the adult portion and then the play set/structure for the kids off to the side in clear view of the patio.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!

Thanks for the input.

What type of fence were you thinking? As you can see from the picture my two neighbors each have a different type of fence. I have pictured in putting some type of garden archway leading to the sideyard with either a small fence or shrubs blocking the view to the sideyard. any thoughts on that idea? (i wasnt joking when I said I was a novice and my ideas often seem to turn out not so great.)

Also, our house only has 2 doors, the front door and the door to the driveway that you can see in the picture. We have considered adding a door that goes to the backyard but weren't sure how difficult or expensive that would be.