+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default What is the difference between industrial design and product design?

I'm a prospective art/design school student and have been looking through catalogs and websites of various colleges. I've noticed some of these schools offer industrial design degrees, others product design degrees, and a few have both. I think I might want to try product design, but I'm not really sure as to what industrial design is and whether or not that's actually what I'm looking for. Can someone tell me what the difference between these two majors are? Examples of jobs that each would have would also be helpful.

Default Re: What is the difference between industrial design and product design?

As I understand it, industrial design is the study of function and form, and the relationship between the user and the product. Furniture design is an example. See http://www.industrialdesignserved.com/

Product design combines art, science and technology to create goods.

Look at Morris, R. (2009). The Fundamentals of Product Design. San Francisco: AVA Publishing. pg 23
    Fred Hidden Content

Love Hidden Content from Jones & Co

Default Re: What is the difference between industrial design and product design?

Cell Biology & genetics will deal with more of the nitty gritty stuff like meiosis and mitosis, protein replication, etc. So a smaller scale it deals with what makes up an organism.

A bizarre insight Alexander!
    Fred Hidden Content

Love Hidden Content from Jones & Co

Hello,
    The basic different of the between industrial and product design.Basically, both are seeking to define a need and create a response in three dimensions. It may be a design issue to the surface for an existing product or it could be preparing a new feature that does not exist. Good design and drawing skills are important. During the ability for mathematics, geometry, etc. are also important.

Hi everybody, I am a new member just joined the